Getting to Choose

…I’m grateful that every day I get to choose Him. I have to reach for Him, again and again. I ask Him for faith and trust and He gives me enough for the day, and I use up every last bit. And each morning when I ask, He gives me more. ~Jeannie Eurich

Every day, I get to choose Him.

Unknown

Every morning, I am faced with the opportunity to run like a little girl into her loving Daddy’s outstretched arms, knowing He has a surprise in store for me. Good gifts from a hand that knows only kindness.

The gift is always enough to last me through the day, but not more than enough to keep me from coming with arms flung wide again and again. Not because my Father has a shortage or is in any way stingy with His lavishness. On the contrary, He has an endless supply of “more than” that would easily sustain me throughout eternity. But because my Father loves me, He wants me to come to Him.

Day after day after day.

He never grows weary. Never tires of my incessant chatter or my needs. He just gives and loves and gives some more because at the very heart of His character is pure goodness.

I empty the gift of faith upon each day, shaking its contents desperately at times when fear grasps at my heart. Casually sorting through hope and trust on other days when I’m restless for something of which I’m not even sure I understand.

In the solitude of me, I long to breathe more freely. To use the gifts more purposefully, because I really do believe there’s a higher calling than the one I’m answering at the moment. I know I hold what is needed, but in moments of panic, I fear the gift is not enough to last me through the night.

Perhaps He will not come tomorrow.

Perhaps He has forgotten me.

Perhaps He has more important things to do than bend low to needy child once more.

Sometimes I forget what is truth and what is lies.

Sometimes I neglect my birthright and ignore the One who stands with gift in hand, day after day, with arms outstretched to provide my every need.

Sometimes I ignore the Father who looks and lingers, waiting for His prodigal daughter to return to the homestead. To claim her inheritance. To be wrapped up again in arms of everlasting love.

But not today.

Today she remembers.

Today she wraps her heart around the blessing of getting to choose Him.

And she throws herself headlong into His arms, confident that she will be cared for and carried one more day.

One gift at a time.

And always it is enough.

Perhaps you need the reminder as much as I do: Today, we get to choose Him.

May we do so with grateful hearts.

And without hesitation.

Today. Tomorrow. And forever.

Through the Lord’s mercies, we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness. ~Lamentations 3:22-23

Leave a Reply

