With Every Grateful Breath

Linking up with Five Minute Friday to write on the word “grateful.” You can join me by heading over to http://www.lisajobaker.com/five-minute-friday

Grateful –

A word that grows the more it is pondered and expressed. How can I possibly come to grips with a grateful heart in a mere five minutes, when it is a word that entices me to spend my lifetime replaying its magnitude? A word that invites me to relive the wonders of a life overflowing with undeserved grace.

I am grateful for a love that was extended to me while I was its enemy. Not just an innocent bystander, but a villain in need of redemption. Picture the worst criminal that comes to mind, then insert my portrait in his place, for when I position my life against the holiness of Christ, that is where I find myself.

A twisted Hitler both denying and pursuing the King of the Jews… Yet, in the fullness of Father’s limitless grace, He rescued me.

HE rescued me.

Gathering me to Himself.

Redeeming me from the ash heap.

Cradling to His chest one utterly spent and broken.

Calling me His daughter.

Granting me His surname and His presence for life.

My Jesus. The beloved Groom of this harlot soul.

From the words of Psalm 40 to Jude 24, I rise as one reborn…

God heard my cry. He also brought me up out of a horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my steps. He has put a new song in my mouth – praise to our God; many will see and fear and will trust in the Lord… As for me, I am poor and needy; yet the Lord thinks upon me…

Now to Him who is able to keep me from stumbling and to present me faultless before the presence of His glory with exceeding joy, to God my Savior, Who alone is wise, be glory and majesty, dominion and power, both now and forever. Amen.

May my life reflect a thankful heart that captures redemption with its every breath, until that breath is consumed and released by the fullness of glory with eyes unveiled and soul set forever free.

Forever grateful. OldRuggedCross_Sept06cropBWsmall.sized_

Leave a Reply

