Convinced of Nothing

And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:38-39, NLT)

I am convinced of something, and that something is that I am convinced of nothing. Sounds like a bit of an oxymoron to me, but then again, that is often the way of truth.

Truth frequently convinces me of the nonsensical, persuading me to believe that nothing is both impossible and possible when it is held firmly in God’s hands.

In this particular case of Romans 8:38-39, truth calls me to hedge all bets on the reality that nothing can separate me from the lavish love poured out for me at Calvary’s cross.

NOTHING!

But some days I don’t live according to truth.

Some days I step away from my convictions.

Some days I attempt to add to the nothing that is before me, daring God to be faithful still.

I know the Bible clearly says that NOTHING can separate me from the love of God that is mine through Christ Jesus my Lord, yet I all too often live as if that were not so.

I allow myself to be fooled by something other than the nothing that is promised.

I give voice to the doubts that tempt me to believe that I have somehow been overlooked by the eyes of my all-seeing, ever-present Father.

I listen to the taunts that accuse me of being unworthy of grace. The lies that rise to cloud out the wonder of a merciful God who judges with righteousness and truth.

There is always the tug toward something when God has taken a stance on the side of nothing, and has purposed to remain there for all the days of my life and life beyond.

Where will I side?

Today, I deliberately choose to be convinced of nothing.

7079653793_5bb7888383_zNothing ever could separate us: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pxx0vPDfv0Q

Today’s post is written in conjunction with Five Minute Friday’s one-word prompt of NOTHING. You can join us here: http://www.lisajobaker.com/five-minute-friday

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Convinced of Nothing

  1. I think this is a very open way of thinking. Things change, circumstances change, people change. Good post…

Leave a Reply

