The Slate Forever Wiped Clean

This time I’m writing out the plan in them, carving it on the lining of their hearts. I’ll be their God, they’ll be My people . . . They’ll get to know Me by being kindly forgiven, with the slate of their sins forever wiped clean.

Such are the words from The Message’s version of Hebrews 8:10-12. This paraphrase of God’s heart toward me makes my own heart fill with sweet relief. In answer to this dispatch of grace unlimited, I find myself responding with thankfulness in a myriad of ways.

What about you? How do you respond to the notion of being “kindly forgiven” and given a fresh start? Do you marvel at the lavishness of Father’s love, bestowed without hesitation? Without reservation? Do you hold onto gratefulness with a firm grip, knowing God never holds a grudge against you?

It is both intimidating and freeing to realize the extravagance of God’s goodness poured out so generously upon the likes of me. I continue to marvel that Father never throws my past sins in my face, no matter how many times I’m prone to repeat them. That He always, always, always offers me grace to begin anew.

Oh, the wonder of having God’s handprint of love sealed upon my heart, assured that I, in turn, am sealed upon His own. Grafted in by grace. Gifted with this new and lasting Covenant of Christ in me. Kindly forgiven and brought near to His throne of mercy. My desperation replaced with a living hope.

This is both the wonder and the joy of my salvation — to be found running for my very life, only to be caught. Captured by grace, held safe and sound in Father’s arms. Forever.

With a start of this New Year before us, I can think of no greater resolution than to recognize and to receive this gift of being kindly forgiven. No greater honor offered back to our Lord than to open this precious promise and simply rest in our God-breathed worth.

Jesus is the One who gives your life value, my friend.

May this be the year you realize it in full.

May this be the year you live within the wonder of grace amazing.

May this be the year you get to know your Savior by being kindly forgiven.

May this be the year you humbly accept the gift of a slate wiped clean.

Forever.

. . . And this grace is yours.

chalkboard-1337809__340© merewhispers.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

